The Advanced Participant Privacy feature is a privacy solution that gives users control over the anonymization of content, based on their role and privacy regulation in the geographical location where research is taking place.
When the Advanced Participant Privacy feature is enabled, users will log in to view their content and be required to select whether they wish to view un-anonymized research or if their role requires them to view content with limited features and anonymization in order to protect participant privacy.
Note: The Advanced Participant Privacy feature is not applicable on Video Insights projects at this time.
1: Enabling Advanced Participant Privacy
By default, all projects that take place in EU member states will have the Advanced Participant Privacy feature enabled in order to comply with GDPR legislation.
Research that takes places outside of the EU will not have the Advanced Participant Privacy feature enabled by default; however, it can be enabled by moving the Advanced Participant Privacy toggle to “YES” when booking a project.
2: The User Experience
If the Advanced Participant Privacy feature is enabled, users will be presented with the following screen and will be required to choose “Standard Viewing” or “Anonymized Viewing” before proceeding.
Users who select “Standard Viewing” have all the standard features enabled, with no privacy restrictions enabled when using InterVu.
Users who select “Anonymized Viewing” will have access to either blurred or an audio-only version of the research, based on the Operating System they are using.
Important: Blurred or audio-only research is only possible on InterVu archives (recordings). Live InterVu research will not have any privacy measures in place. Users will still be presented with a consent page before joining a live InterVu project, however, this screen will serve only as a reminder that non-researchers will view un-anonymized content at their own risk.
When the Advanced Participant Privacy feature is enabled, the following features are modified for users who select “Anonymized Viewing”:
- Document/Clip tab is not accessible (clips cannot be created or viewed)
- Archive (recording) is blurred or, in some cases, may be presented as audio-only
- Download option is disabled for research recording
- Advanced Participant Privacy feature is not applicable for non-webcam InterVu projects